My Four Seasons

I don’t post to this blog as frequently as I used to. I’m doing a lot more writing at work, so I’ve been less inclined to post.

Plus, let’s be honest: I’m not that interesting. You know you’re getting to the end of the line when you post about your boots. (Although I love those boots.)

Oh well. The name of this blog is Reynoworld, not Jim’s Riveting Reads.

Anyway, I don’t want to disappoint the several people who read this blog, so here’s another one. Got a cupla beer in, got a dip in (sorry, Template), got Trane on the stereo. Ready to write.

IMG_0780
Jim Reyno and Brad Hunter welcome summer at The Ship. Kelly Drennan photo.

It’s officially summer. Just turned from spring. I intended to write this post yesterday, but I was busy baseball watchin’ and cat wrasslin’.

But I’ve cleared my schedule and here it is: My ranking off the seasons, from first to worst.

Fall: You’ve had a great summer, lots of hot weather, and now it’s cooler — but not too cool. The leaves haven’t fallen yet, and the colours are spectacular.

Sweater weather, easier to hide the spare tire you’ve earned with a summer of beer drinkin’ and deck sittin’.

Plus, I get a sense of optimism from fall. Great memories of summer, as well as the hope winter won’t be so bad. And as a sports guy, you’ve got baseball playoffs as well as early season NFL and NHL. A perfect storm, if by “storm” you mean fascinating for-real reality TV. I hope my favourite team of millionaires who represent a city I don’t live in beats yours!

Summer: Like a Trump tweet, summer speaks for itself. Sun, warmth, decks, family, friends, barbecue — all that.

Although I don’t like the humid days as much as I did when I was younger. Who wants to feel sweat on their gut? I’m 47 years old.

Spring: Like fall, I get a sense of optimism from spring. You’ve survived the winter, and as everyone knows about baseball spring training, hope springs eternal.

And two of my favourite days of the year are the first day I can wear shorts, and the first day I can open the window in the condo.

Winter: Now just a minute. I don’t hate winter. If you’re ready for the cold weather, it’s not too bad. Me and my main man and Reynoworld guest blogger Nate walk all the way from the office to the Starbucks on Main West in Hamilton pretty well every workday. It’s like, three blocks at least. I think it’s fair to say we are warriors.

One thing that makes winter much easier is having indoor parking at the condo. I rarely have to brush snow off the car. Regardless of how you rank the seasons, I think we can all agree that brushing snow off a car is the worst fucking thing in the history of the world.

But maybe that’s just me. Feel free to tell me how you rank the seasons. If we can reach a consensus, maybe we can change the weather.

Published by jimreyno2013

Dog and cat lover, writer, editor, occasional mandolin picker, trying to watch what I eat instead of just inhaling it.

Leave a comment